Follow

Users

This article covers:

Users

In order for persons to access PPO, they must be loaded as users. This provides them with a username and password in order to log onto PPO.

Before a person can be loaded as a user, they have to be loaded as an employee first. For full details on the differences between employees and users, access the following FAQ. For details on loading employees, access the following knowledge base article.

Note: PPO is charged for according to the number of subscriptions available on an instance, NOT the number of users loaded. For more information on subscriptions, access the following FAQ.

For the PPO Administrator to be able to maintain users, they have to have access to the Administration menu item and the Users icon.

kb_users_step1.png

Adding and editing a user

To add or edit a user, click on the Users icon, from the Administration >> List page. The User Account >> List page will open showing a list of all the users that are already loaded on PPO.

User_Account_List_page.png

On the User Account >> List page you are able to filter on all Active as well as Inactive users, by respectively selecting the "Yes" or "No" options from the User Active? drop-down list. You are also able to view the full list of all active and inactive users, by selecting the "All" option.

The User Account >> List page can further be filtered per user group, which helps you see which users belong to a specific user group, and also helps you determine how many users form part of a specific user group.

Filtering_the_user_list.png

To edit a user click on the user on the list or to add a new user, click on the Add User Account icon.

The User Account >> Add or User Account >> Edit page will open, based on the previous action.

User_Profile.png

A username has to be specified for every user. The user will use this username to log in to PPO. This could be the person's employee code or name and surname.

It is recommended that the username does not contain any spaces or capital letters. These add complexity to the username and increase the possibility of user errors when trying to log in.

The user must also be linked to an employee record and user group. For more information on how to load employees, access the following knowledge base article and for more information on managing user groups,  access the following knowledge base article.

Lastly, indicate whether the employee is Active or not. If a user is no longer Active (Active is false) the user will not be able to log in to PPO. This is typically used when a user has resigned: the user is marked as Inactive, leaving all history items in tact.

Once all the information has been specified, click on the Submit icon.

Every change made to a user's details will result in a history record being created. This will allow the administrator to keep track of all changes made to user details.

User_History.png

When users are added, a welcome e-mail will automatically be sent to the new user containing a link to PPO as well as their login credentials.

kb_users_step4.png

When the user logs in for the first time they will be asked to reset their password.

Reset password

Users have two options when it comes to receiving a new password when they have forgotten theirs. The first option is provided to the user when they log in and requires no intervention on the part of the Administrator.

For more information on this option, access the following FAQ.

The other option is for the PPO Administrator to reset the user's password from their user account. This can be done by accessing the user's account and clicking on the Reset Password icon. 

kb_users_step6.png


An e-mail containing a new password will be sent to the user automatically.

Deleting a user

Users can only be deleted if they have never logged in to PPO. As soon as a user logs in to PPO they start generating entries in the audit log  which need to be maintained even if the user access is no longer required.

kb_users_step7.png


If a user has logged on previously, the system will prevent that user from being deleted, and the following error message below will be displayed, when trying to delete the user.

kb_users_step8.png

If the user cannot be deleted, their Active checkbox should rather be unchecked. This will remove the user from the User Account >> List page. The account can still be accessed by the administrator and amended by making the "User Active?" field on the User Account >> List page No or All. The list page will then show either all inactive users or all active and inactive users, depending on the selection made.

Inactive_Users.png
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Article is closed for comments.
Start a 30 Day Free TrialClick ClickNo Credit Card and No Obligation
Powered by Zendesk