Follow

Deleting records in PPO

This article covers:

In some cases you might want to delete records from PPO, that were wrongfully added. This is possible, if the user group that you belong to has access to the delete functionality. We do suggest that the delete functionality should  be limited to PPO Administrators, to ensure that data integrity is kept intact.

When deleting records, only project related entities can be deleted, e.g the project schedule imported incorrectly and you would like to delete all the tasks, before re-importing the final schedule.

When items in PPO are "deleted", they are no longer visible to the user from the front-end, but they are never actually deleted from the PPO database. They are just hidden. So should you need to retrieve a record that was wrongfully deleted, you should log a support call so that the PPO support team can assist you with your request.

Note that employees, projects and programmes can not be deleted from PPO. They can however be marked as inactive, after which the records will then be filtered out, by a global filter.

Deleting single records

The risks entity has been used in this article as an example, but the principles can be applied to all project related entities.

To delete a risk, click on the Delete Risk icon from the Risks >> View page.

kb_basic_step28.png

PPO will ask to confirm that the item must be deleted. If so, click on OK.

kb_basic_step31.png

Deleting multiple records

Continuing the example, to delete multiple risks, go to the Risks >> List page, and apply the filters or select criteria so that only the items that you want to delete are displayed on the list page. Click on the Delete Risks icon from the Risks >> List page.

kb_basic_step20.png

The Risks >> Delete page will open and will show the same risk items that were shown on the list page:

Risks_Delete_before_edit.jpg

Move the risks that should be deleted to the box on the right, using the green arrows.

Risks_Delete.jpg

When all risks that should be deleted are in the box on the right and all risks that have to be kept are in the box on the left, click on the Submit icon, to return to the list page.

Deleting items with associated approvals or time entries

Care should be taken when deleting items that have associated time entries or approvals (or even worse, time entries with associated approvals).  When these items are deleted, all associated time entries and approvals will also be automatically deleted. It is recommended that if you do not want time entries to be inadvertently deleted, that you set up a business rule to prevent these deletes.  For assistance with setting up a business rule like this, please contact our support desk.

Deleting programmes, projects and employees

Programmes, projects and employees are treated as special cases in PPO  since they play a prominent role in relation to other entities. These entities can therefore NOT be deleted.

In the case of projects, they can be linked to other projects (e.g. parent  projects) while project related entities link to projects (for example issues, risks, tasks, time entries and approvals). If we allowed projects to be deleted, we would also have to delete all these related entities and references, which would compromise the audit trail and history of items in PPO.

Similarly, employees can be linked to users and can also referenced in any entity that have employee fields. If we allowed employees to be deleted we would again have to remove all these references.

A similar problem exists in respect of programmes.

Global filters can however be set up to hide these entities from the front-end so that they no longer appear in drop-down lists or on the list pages. For more information on filters, refer to the following knowledge base article.  

Deleting time entries

Time entry records that are manually added can be deleted by following the steps below.

The screenshot below shows the Time Entries >> Maintenance page with the pre-populated time entries.

Time_Entries_Maintenance_Page.jpg

Once a user manually adds a time entry record and NO time entries are recorded for the particular line item, the time entry record will disappear once the user clicks on the "Submit Time Entries" icon.

No_time_booked_for_risk.jpg

If approved time entries records need to be deleted the following steps need to be adhered to:

The mentioned time entries would first have to be "unapproved". This is done by accessing the Approvals entity. From the Approvals >> List page click on the approval for the time entry record which you would like to amend. Then click on the Edit Approval icon and update the Status from "Approved" to "Pending". Then click on the Submit Approval icon. 

3.jpg

When the user then accesses their time entries, they will see that the record is no longer greyed out, and they will then be able to amend / remove the time entry. Please note that the time entry record will have to be sent for approval again.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Article is closed for comments.
Start a 30 Day Free TrialClick ClickNo Credit Card and No Obligation
Powered by Zendesk