Follow

Adding, Updating & Deleting multiple records

This article covers:

Sometimes it is more convenient to update multiple records at the same time, for example if you want to update the status of issues, update task progress percentages or re-assign multiple issues.  Also, when adding a number of similar items, PPO provides functionality that makes this a lot easier than adding the items individually. Lastly, when deleting a number of items, PPO provides the ability to delete multiple records at the same time.

On all list pages you will find an action button, by clicking on this action button additional options are made available.

The risks entity has been used in this article as an example, but the principles can be applied to all entities.

mceclip0.png

 

Adding or editing multiple records

In the example below, to add or edit multiple risks, first select the records which you want to edit or add from then select the Edit option from the action button options. If you want to select all the items on the page, simply click on the checkbox at the top of the column or you can select single items as shown below. 

mceclip1.png

The Risks Edit page will open.

mceclip3.png

Note the items shown on the Risks Edit page, these will be the items that were selected on the previous step. If all items are selected then the above list will show 100 items unless otherwise stated under your preferences. 

By default the fields on the list page are displayed as columns on the Risks Edit page. You can however change the columns that are shown by clicking on the Show / Hide List Columns icon in the top right hand corner of the page.

mceclip4.png

If you deselect all columns, it will revert to the default list columns configured for the instance. 

To edit a record, simply click on the record you want to edit and make the required changes. 

mceclip15.png

To add a new record, click on the plus at the bottom of the multiple edit page.

mceclip17.png

Note that in the case of projects, you will only see the add and copy icons if the Project Code field on your instance is calculated. If the Project Code field on your instance is not calculated, you can request for it to be made calculated by logging a ticket with the support desk.

Also note that if you click on the add icon and do not currently have all required columns selected, a message will pop-up as below:

This is to ensure that all required information is captured when you add a record.

After you have clicked on the add icon, a  new line will open so that you can supply the information for the new record.

mceclip18.png

To copy an existing record, first select a specific line and then click on the Copy icon at the bottom of the multiple edit page as per the screenshot below:

mceclip19.png

A copied line will be displayed, with the information of the previously selected line. You can then change only the fields that are different.  This is useful for example, where you have to create a record for every month of the year, or you want to assign the same item to multiple users.

Please note that when using the copy functionality, all column values will be copied, not just those shown.

mceclip20.png

Once all changes have been made, click on the Submit icon to return to the Risk List page as shown below.

mceclip14.png

Access the following video which will explain the multiple adding and updating functionality, as shown above.

Important: When adding or editing multiple items it is easy to lose track of time.  If you take longer than the timeout that has been configured (currently 60 minutes) your session will have expired and you will be logged out of PPO and you will lose your changes.  Therefore, make sure that you submit your progress frequently.

Deleting records

In some cases you might want to delete records from PPO, that were wrongfully added. This is possible, if the user group that you belong to has access to the delete functionality. We do suggest that the delete functionality should  be limited to PPO Administrators, to ensure that data integrity is kept intact.

When deleting records, only project related entities can be deleted, e.g the project schedule imported incorrectly and you would like to delete all the tasks, before re-importing the final schedule.

When items in PPO are "deleted", they are no longer visible to the user from the front-end, but they are never actually deleted from the PPO database. They are just hidden. So should you need to retrieve a record that was wrongfully deleted, you should log a support call so that the PPO support team can assist you with your request.

Note that employees, projects and programmes can not be deleted from PPO. They can however be marked as inactive, after which the records will then be filtered out, by a global filter.

Deleting a single record

We continue to use the risk entity as an example, but the principles can be applied to all project related entities.

To delete a risk, select the Delete option from the action button options on the Risk View page.

mceclip0.png

PPO will ask to confirm that the item must be deleted. If so, click on OK.

mceclip2.png

Deleting multiple records

Continuing the example, to delete multiple risks, go to the Risks List page, select the records that you want to delete and then select the Delete option from the action button options .

mceclip3.png

PPO will ask to confirm that the item must be deleted. If so, click on OK.

mceclip2.png

Deleting items with associated approvals or time entries

Care should be taken when deleting items that have associated time entries or approvals (or even worse, time entries with associated approvals).  When these items are deleted, all associated time entries and approvals will also be automatically deleted. It is recommended that if you do not want time entries to be inadvertently deleted, that you set up a business rule to prevent these deletes.  For assistance with setting up a business rule like this, please contact our support desk.

Deleting programmes, projects and employees

Programmes, projects and employees are treated as special cases in PPO since they play a prominent role in relation to other entities. These entities can therefore NOT be deleted.

In the case of projects, they can be linked to other projects (e.g. parent projects) while project related entities link to projects (for example issues, risks, tasks, time entries and approvals). If we allowed projects to be deleted, we would also have to delete all these related entities and references, which would compromise the audit trail and history of items in PPO.

Similarly, employees can be linked to users and can also be referenced in any entity that has employee fields. If we allowed employees to be deleted we would again have to remove all these references.

A similar problem exists in respect of programmes.

Global filters can however be set up to hide these entities from the front-end so that they no longer appear in drop-down lists or on the list pages. For more information on filters, refer to the following knowledge base article.  

Deleting time entries

Time entry records that are manually added can be deleted by following the steps below.

The screenshot below shows the Time Entries page with the pre-populated time entries.

mceclip10.png

Once a user manually adds a time entry record and NO time entries are recorded for the particular line item, the time entry record will disappear once the user clicks on the "Submit" button.

mceclip12.png

If approved time entries records need to be deleted the following steps need to be adhered to:

The mentioned time entries would first have to be "unapproved". This is done by accessing the Approvals entity. From the Approvals List page click on the approval for the time entry record which you would like to amend. Then click on the Edit button and update the Status from "Approved" to "Pending". Then click on the Submit button. 

mceclip8.png

When the user then accesses their time entries, they will see that the record is no longer greyed out, and they will then be able to amend / remove the time entry. Please note that the time entry record will have to be sent for approval again if it is amended.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request
Article is closed for comments.
Start a 30 Day Free TrialClick ClickNo Credit Card and No Obligation
Powered by Zendesk